Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/customer/www/thetablettutor.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/Divi/functions.php on line 5760

Art of Band Conducting and Rehearsal Workshop

June 14-18, 2016

Workshop Overview

All sessions will be held in the facilities of The University of Texas at Austin Butler School of Music. Activities will include conducting the UT Summer Chamber Winds, as well as panel discussions and classroom sessions dealing with literature, score study, rehearsal techniques, ensemble motivation, conducting technique, and personal musical growth.


Enrollment Information


Participants will conduct the UT Summer Chamber Winds, as well as attend all sessions. Participant status is designed for conductors with a minimum of a completed bachelor’s degree in music and one year of experience in either a teaching situation or graduate conducting study.


Observers will attend all sessions but will not conduct the ensembles. Observer status is recommended for and open to musicians at all levels. Observer registration is not limited.


Registration will open at 8:00 AM CST on January 19. Click here to access online registration.



Dormitory housing is available on campus. Complete dormitory and some hotel information will accompany your confirmation if requested on the registration form. Please note that Austin hotels run at a 95% occupancy year round. The Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau online has hotel information at: http://www.austintexas.org/.

Tax Deduction

Treasury regulation 1.162-5 permits an income tax deduction for educational expenses (including travel, meals, lodging) undertaken to maintain or improve professional skills.


Jason Missal, Workshop Coordinator – jdmissal@utexas.edu

Featured Clinicians


Serenade in D Minor, op. 44, Antonin Dvorak (Kalmus)
II. Minuetto and Trio
III. Andante con moto
IV. Finale (Allegro molto)

Nocturno fur Blaser, Felix Mendelssohn ed. Hogwood (Barenreiter)

Serenade No. 11 in E-flat Major, K. 375, W.A. Mozart (Barenreiter)
I. Allegro maestoso
III. Adagio
V. Finale (Allegro)

Symphonies of Wind Instruments (1947 version),* Igor Stravinsky (Boosey)
*Positions for the Stravinsky will be limited.